top of page

My Favorite Books


I'm sure you are wondering just what you can expect from this blog (or not..probably not!) so I decided to give you a brief glimpse into my mad mind by sharing with you my favorite books of all time!

One thing I love about these books is that they all have that oomph! That captured my attention and kept me hooked (original I know!) but here you go. I most likely will add another "favorites" post soon.

Melissa's favorite books of all time!

1. The Stand by Stephen King- This book was the first "tome" I remember devouring and immediately starting to re-read it mere seconds after finishing the last page. I think that was when I was about 10 or 11 years old. I loved the epic struggle between good and evil. The journey of our heroes to the enemy's lair, even when they knew that return would be nearly impossible. I love the characters and the story that King set up. It is seriously my all time favorite books. In fact, since I got that first copy so many years ago I've had to replace it many times. My newest copy is looking a bit beaten up.. perhaps it's time to dust it off again?

2. The Walking Dead (Comic Series) by Robert Kirkman- So if you haven't been living under a rock you've heard of the Walking Dead tv show. Before all that fun stuff was the comic series. I've been a fan for a while, though I have to admit that I started reading AFTER the show came out. The differences between the two are pretty big though the story and most of the characters are similar. No Daryl in the comics? What the what?! Anyways, I'm loving the story and especially now that the show and the comics are diverging into two very different paths it's all the more better. The story of survival, family, and group drama in a world that's been ravaged by a plague is what intrigued me. The art work and writing is superb and I mean zombies. I love zombies!

Starting to see a pattern here...apocalypse..fighting. Hmm..

3. The Illuminae Files (complete series) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff- So this one ventures into YA scifi, and let me tell you, I gobbled it up! I waited impatiently for each volume of the series and was delighted each time another book came out! I cried, I laughed, I gawked over the art work. This series was magic and I loved every second of it. I have heard rumors that there is a tv show or movie in the works, and I have to say I think the material would be perfection for it! I mourned that the story ended (though I loved the ending) and would greet a new version very happily!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page